| | | Contact us | Branches | |

Search Website

Time to Talk Day 2019

Thursday, February 7th, 2019 | Uncategorized
A A A

On It’s Time To Talk Day, we want to help those that may not have someone to talk to. There are countless services across the country dedicated to providing support. We’re going to list a few of of them below with descriptions and also a large list of numbers at the bottom. Please feel free to add any of your own local support services in the comments below!

Samaritans

Founded by Chad Varah in the UK during 1953, Samaritans provide emotional support to those living with mental health illnesses and those prone to suicidal thoughts. Samaritans has a number of international branches across the world, all providing support in a number of different languages.

Samaritans - 116 123

Nightline

The pressures of being a student can sometimes prove too much for some, which is why the Nightline Association provides a free phone call service in which trained voluntary students lend an anonymous ear. The charity was originally established in 1970 at the University of Essex, and there are a number of similar organisations across the world offering the same service. You can find out more about nightline and the support they provide by visiting the link below.

Nightline - https://www.nightline.ac.uk/

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children - NSPCC

As tough as it may be to admit, there are children across the world living in hardship. It’s surprising that one in eight 5 to 19-year-olds had at least one mental disorder when assessed in 2017. The rise of mental health conditions and many other factors have led to an increase in the number of calls to child related helplines in recent years.

NSPCC - 0800 1111

Depression Alliance

According to the World Health Organisation there are over 300 million people living with depression globally. While awareness certainly has improved in recent years - especially in the UK - the battle against mental health stigma is still an important one! Depression can affect all of us at any stage in our lives, so it's important to remember that there is support out there for those who need it, whether that be the support of friends and family or the support of an organisation like Depression Alliance.

Depression Alliance - 0300 123 3393

Helplines & Useful Links

Anxiety UK - 08444 775 774 - https://www.anxietyuk.org.uk/

Arthritis Care Helpline - 0808 800 4050

Autism Helpline - 0808 800 4104

Ben Mental Health & Wellbeing - 08081 311 333

Bipolar UK - https://www.bipolaruk.org/

British Heart Foundation - 0300 330 3311 - www.bhf.org.uk

CALM - www.thecalmzone.net

Depression Alliance - 0300 123 3393 - www.mind.org.uk

Men’s Health Forum - 020 7922 7908 - https://www.menshealthforum.org.uk

Mental Health Foundation - www.mentalhealth.org

Mind - 0300 123 3393 - www.mind.org.uk

No Panic - 0844 967 4848 - www.nopanic.org.uk

OCD Action- 0845 390 6232 - www.ocdaction.org.uk

OCD UK - 0845 120 3778 - www.ocduk.org

PAPYRUS - 0800 068 4141 - www.papyrus-uk.org

Rethink Mental Illness - 0300 5000 927 - www.rethink.org

Samaritans - 116 123 - www.samaritans.org.uk

SANE - 0300 304 7000 - http://www.sane.org.uk/

Support Line - 01708 765 200 - [email protected]

Young Minds - 0808 802 5544 - https://youngminds.org.uk/

NSPCC - 0808 800 5000 - www.nspcc.org.uk

Refuge - 0808 2000 247 - www.refuge.org.uk

Alcoholics Anonymous - 0845 769 7555 - https://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk/

Gamblers Anonymous - https://www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk/

Narcotics Anonymous - 0300 999 1212 - www.ukna.org

Alzheimer's Society - 0300 222 1122 - www.alzheimers.org.uk

Cruse Bereavement Care - 0844 477 9400 - www.cruse.org.uk

Rape Crisis - 0808 802 9999 - www.rapecrisis.org.uk

Victim Support - 0808 168 9111 - https://www.victimsupport.org.uk/

Beat - 0808 801 0677 - www.b-eat.co.uk

Mencap - 0808 808 1111 - www.mencap.org.uk

Family Lives - 0808 800 2222 - www.familylives.org.uk
Relate - 0300 100 1234 - www.relate.org.uk



Join our mailing LIST: